Lady Mary Wortley Montagu

-
Standard Name: Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley
Birth Name: Mary Pierrepont
Styled: Lady Mary Pierrepont
Nickname: Flavia
Nickname: Sappho
Married Name: Lady Mary Wortley Montagu
Indexed Name: Lady Mary Wortley Montagu
Pseudonym: Strephon
Pseudonym: Clarinda
Pseudonym: A Turkey Merchant
LMWM , eighteenth-century woman of letters, identified herself as a writer, a sister of the quill
Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley. The Complete Letters of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. Halsband, RobertEditor , Clarendon Press, 1967.
3: 173
haunted by the daemon of poetry. She wrote poems, essays, letters (including the letters from Europe and Turkey which she later recast as a highly successful travel book), fiction (including adult fairy-tale, oriental tale, and full-length mock romance), satire, a diary, a play, a political periodical, and a history of her own times. Not all of these survive. Best known in her lifetime for her poetry, she is today still best known for her letters.
Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley. The Complete Letters of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. Halsband, RobertEditor , Clarendon Press, 1967.
3: 173, 183
Photo of a full-length painting of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu by Jonathan Richardson recording her time in Turkey. She stands outdoors, with famous buildings of Constantinople (Istanbul) visible beyond. She is dressed in gold: a caftan whose deep V-neck and open skirt reveal a lace shift and long harem drawers. She also wears a gold cap which she calls a talpock on her dark hair, a blue cloak edged with ermine, pearl drop earrings, and pointed slippers. The presence of the young Black boy behind her is start
"Lady Mary Wortley Montagu" Retrieved from https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/40/Jonathan_Richardson_d._J._001.jpg. This work is licensed under the Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) Public Domain Dedication license. This work is in the public domain.

Connections

Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
Publishing Margaret Oliphant
MO published in Blackwoods her Historical Sketches of the Reign of George II, whose subjects include Queen Caroline (his wife) and Lady Mary Wortley Montagu .
Jay, Elisabeth. Mrs Oliphant: "A Fiction to Herself": A Literary Life. Clarendon Press, 1995.
341
Reception Judith Cowper Madan
Pope complimented Judith Cowper (later Madan) in To Erinna on her (still unpublished) lines to him. He praised her for not seeking, like Lady Mary Wortley Montagu , to emulate the sun's brightness, but for...
Reception Anne Irwin
AI 's Epistle to Pope was anthologized in The New Foundling Hospital for Wit, in the 1770s. Mary Robinson , praising it in 1799, thought it was written by Lady Mary Wortley Montagu .
Reception Marie-Catherine de Villedieu
This was one of three publications by MCV which Lady Mary Wortley Montagu had in her library (besides a sequel to another Villedieu work).
“List of Lady Mary Wortley’s books packed up to be sent abroad”. Wharncliffe Muniments, Sheffield, 1739, p. M / 135 / 3.
Reception Queen Elizabeth I
The immense and long-lasting interest aroused by Elizabeth is not, of course, primarily due to her writings, any more than were the adulation paid her during her lifetime, the cult of Gloriana, the Virgin Queen...
Reception Caroline Norton
She treated her own request as if it were just any appeal for patronage: I do not know if there be any precedent for appointing a female poet laureate even in a Queen's reign...
Residence Rosina Bulwer Lytton, Baroness Lytton
During the final months before separating from her husband, Rosina Lytton lived at Berrymead Priory at Acton west of London (the house from which Lady Mary Wortley Montagu had made an early, unsuccessful attempt to...
Textual Features Susanna Haswell Rowson
The title-page quotes Samuel Johnson asserting that an author has nothing but his own merits to stand or fall on. The Birth of Genius, an irregular ode, offers advice to my son to love...
Textual Features Eliza Haywood
Spedding rejects the dubious works: Vanelia; or, The Amours of the Great (a musical entertainment staged and printed in 1732) which mocks the Prince of Wales whom EH had flattered; and Mr. Taste. The Poetical...
Textual Features Elizabeth Ogilvy Benger
EOB writes in terms of a women's tradition: for instance, she praises Barbauld for praising Elizabeth Rowe . She makes confident judgements and attributions (she is sure that Lady Pakington is the real author of...
Textual Features Ruth Padel
The poems here, addressing the circumstances of Darwin 's life, employ a scaffolding of his own words, forcefully shaped, against a background of many other voices (including that of an orangutan in a zoo). They...
Textual Features L. E. L.
This novel provides a satirical portrait of high society in early eighteenth-century England. It centres on Henrietta, Countess of Marchmont, an upper-class orphan enduring a loveless marriage and imperilled by her first visit to...
Textual Features Barbarina Brand, Baroness Dacre
An epilogue by Thomas Moore sounds flippantly critical of Bluestockings (not the historical group of this name, but in the more general sense of intellectual women). A speaker appears wondering much what little knavish sprite...
Textual Features Mathilde Blind
MB 's other Byron introduction, to her selection of his letters and journals, positions the genre (with reference to human curiosity, and to the epistolary novel as well as to the letters of Sevigné and...
Textual Features Charlotte Forman
With probably pleasurable irony and in the tradition of Mary Astell and Lady Mary Wortley Montagu , this essay presents its author as a great admirer of the literary productions of the fair sex, which...

Timeline

No timeline events available.