Lady Mary Wortley Montagu

-
Standard Name: Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley
Birth Name: Mary Pierrepont
Styled: Lady Mary Pierrepont
Nickname: Flavia
Nickname: Sappho
Married Name: Lady Mary Wortley Montagu
Indexed Name: Lady Mary Wortley Montagu
Pseudonym: Strephon
Pseudonym: Clarinda
Pseudonym: A Turkey Merchant
LMWM , eighteenth-century woman of letters, identified herself as a writer, a sister of the quill
Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley. The Complete Letters of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. Halsband, RobertEditor , Clarendon Press, 1967.
3: 173
haunted by the daemon of poetry. She wrote poems, essays, letters (including the letters from Europe and Turkey which she later recast as a highly successful travel book), fiction (including adult fairy-tale, oriental tale, and full-length mock romance), satire, a diary, a play, a political periodical, and a history of her own times. Not all of these survive. Best known in her lifetime for her poetry, she is today still best known for her letters.
Montagu, Lady Mary Wortley. The Complete Letters of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. Halsband, RobertEditor , Clarendon Press, 1967.
3: 173, 183
Photo of a full-length painting of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu by Jonathan Richardson recording her time in Turkey. She stands outdoors, with famous buildings of Constantinople (Istanbul) visible beyond. She is dressed in gold: a caftan whose deep V-neck and open skirt reveal a lace shift and long harem drawers. She also wears a gold cap which she calls a talpock on her dark hair, a blue cloak edged with ermine, pearl drop earrings, and pointed slippers. The presence of the young Black boy behind her is start
"Lady Mary Wortley Montagu" Retrieved from https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/40/Jonathan_Richardson_d._J._001.jpg. This work is licensed under the Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) Public Domain Dedication license. This work is in the public domain.

Connections

Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
Textual Features Jane Collier
The commonplace-book throws light on Collier's other extant writings as well. A casual mention of what Sally calls the Turba proves definitively that at least one neologism in The Cry stemmed not from her but...
Textual Features Clara Reeve
In her preface a character named Preceptor makes Reeve's didactic purpose clear by enunciating a recipe for forming model citizens: It is a mark of a well-disposed mind, to believe your own country is the...
Textual Features Anna Letitia Barbauld
ALB draws on Hannah More , her niece Lucy Aikin , and (anonymously) Joanna Baillie . She is even-handed in that she includes six excerpts from James Fordyce 's Sermons to Young Women, a...
Textual Features Delarivier Manley
The New Atalantis is crammed with offensive personal attacks on individuals (women as well as men); most though not all of them pertain to the misuse of political or sexual power. Particularly notorious is the...
Textual Features Anna Williams
Besides AW 's own work, the volume included several pieces by Johnson, The Three Warnings by Hester Thrale , and a poem beginning Friendship, peculiar gift of heaven, a copy of which had been...
Textual Features Emma Roberts
Like other books of travel to the east, as far back as Lady Mary Wortley Montagu 's Embassy Letters (composed 1716 -18, unpublished till 1763) this gains immensely by encompassing descriptions of Europe as well...
Textual Features Susanna Haswell Rowson
The title-page quotes Samuel Johnson asserting that an author has nothing but his own merits to stand or fall on. The Birth of Genius, an irregular ode, offers advice to my son to love...
Textual Features Elizabeth Ogilvy Benger
EOB writes in terms of a women's tradition: for instance, she praises Barbauld for praising Elizabeth Rowe . She makes confident judgements and attributions (she is sure that Lady Pakington is the real author of...
Textual Features Ruth Padel
The poems here, addressing the circumstances of Darwin 's life, employ a scaffolding of his own words, forcefully shaped, against a background of many other voices (including that of an orangutan in a zoo). They...
Textual Features Eliza Haywood
Spedding rejects the dubious works: Vanelia; or, The Amours of the Great (a musical entertainment staged and printed in 1732) which mocks the Prince of Wales whom EH had flattered; and Mr. Taste. The Poetical...
Textual Features L. E. L.
This novel provides a satirical portrait of high society in early eighteenth-century England. It centres on Henrietta, Countess of Marchmont, an upper-class orphan enduring a loveless marriage and imperilled by her first visit to...
Textual Features Barbarina Brand, Baroness Dacre
An epilogue by Thomas Moore sounds flippantly critical of Bluestockings (not the historical group of this name, but in the more general sense of intellectual women). A speaker appears wondering much what little knavish sprite...
Textual Features Mathilde Blind
MB 's other Byron introduction, to her selection of his letters and journals, positions the genre (with reference to human curiosity, and to the epistolary novel as well as to the letters of Sevigné and...
Textual Features Charlotte Forman
With probably pleasurable irony and in the tradition of Mary Astell and Lady Mary Wortley Montagu , this essay presents its author as a great admirer of the literary productions of the fair sex, which...
Textual Features Janet Little
She consistently takes a challenging stance in face of authority. Ironically (in view of Johnson's championing of women writers and Burns's snobbish attitude about herself) she uses Samuel Johnson as a symbol of the tyrant-critic...

Timeline

No timeline events available.