Jane Cobden

Standard Name: Cobden, Jane


Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
politics Emmeline Pankhurst
Its members included Elizabeth Wolstenholme Elmy , Jane Cobden , William Lloyd Garrison , Josephine Butler , and Mrs P. A. (Clementia) Taylor (convenor of the first Women's Suffrage Committee formed in London), among others.


November 1888
17 January 1889
Supported by the Society for Promoting Women as County Councillors , Margaret, Lady Sandhurst , and Jane Cobden became the first women to be elected to the newly formed London County Council .
18 March 1889
As a result of the suit of Beresford Hope v. Sandhurst, Margaret, Lady Sandhurst , lost her position on the London County Council .


No bibliographical results available.