E. Arnot Robertson

Standard Name: Robertson, E. Arnot
Birth Name: Eileen Arbuthnot Robertson
Pseudonym: E. Arnot Robertson
Married Name: Eileen Arbuthnot Turner
Titled: Eileen Arbuthnot, Lady Turner
During the middle decades of the twentieth century, EAR published nine novels (the last one posthumously), as well as shorter fiction, a work of topography and one of naval history, and a book for children. Her earlier fiction was better received than later works. She became extremely well known as a broadcaster and film reviewer.


Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
Literary responses Ivy Compton-Burnett
Elizabeth Taylor detailed the interest that attended this book's appearance. Published on a Monday, it was broadcast as a radio play on Wednesday, discussed on radio on Thursday by Daniel George (who called the author...
Occupation Marghanita Laski
ML 's high public profile largely resulted from her radio work. One of her earliest wireless programmes, The Brains Trust, first went on air on 1 January 1941. In this highly intelligent quiz series...
Textual Production P. D. James
PDJ published another mystery novel, Devices and Desires, which exploits a detailed knowledge of the workings of London's law courts.
Her title (already used for a different kind of novel by E. Arnot Robertson


1 February 1956
In the Declaration of Washington (one of a number of statements to bear this title), the US President and British Prime Minister pronounced together on relations between the Free World and the Soviet Union.