Jane Gardam

Standard Name: Gardam, Jane
Birth Name: Jean Mary Pearson
JG is a prolific, much respected, and still (in 2010) highly productive writer of fiction for children and adolescents, and novels and stories for adults, besides journalism and reviews.


Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
Intertextuality and Influence Penelope Lively
As controversy has been Henry's domain, reading has been Charlotte's. For ever, reading has been central, the necessary fix, the support system. Her life has been informed by reading. Reading has taught her how sex...


No timeline events available.


Gardam, Jane. A Few Fair Days. Hamish Hamilton, 1971.
Gardam, Jane. A Long Way from Verona. Hamish Hamilton, 1971.
Gardam, Jane. “and good in everything”. The Author, Vol.
, No. 1, pp. 23-5.
Gardam, Jane. Bilgewater. Hamish Hamilton, 1976.
Gardam, Jane. Black Faces, White Faces. Hamish Hamilton, 1975.
Gardam, Jane. Bridget and William. Julia MacRae Books, 1981.
Gardam, Jane. Crusoe’s Daughter. Hamish Hamilton, 1980.
Gardam, Jane. Faith Fox: a Nativity. Sinclair-Stevenson, 1996.
Gardam, Jane. God on the Rocks. Hamish Hamilton, 1978.
Gardam, Jane. Going into a Dark House. Sinclair-Stevenson, 1994.
Gardam, Jane. Last Friends. Little, Brown, 2013.
Gardam, Jane. Missing the Midnight: Hauntings and Grotesques. Sinclair-Stevenson, 1997.
Gardam, Jane. Old Filth. Chatto and Windus, 2004.
Gardam, Jane. “Short Story Report”. The Bridport Prize 2006, Sansom and Company, 2006, pp. 5-7.
Gardam, Jane. Showing the Flag: and Other Stories. Hamish Hamilton, 1989.
Gardam, Jane. The Flight of the Maidens. Chatto and Windus, 2000.
Gardam, Jane. The Hollow Land. Julia MacRae Books, 1981.
Gardam, Jane. The Iron Coast: Notes from a Cold Country. Sinclair-Stevenson, 1994.
Gardam, Jane. The Man in the Wooden Hat. Chatto and Windus, 2009.
Gardam, Jane. The Pangs of Love and Other Stories. Hamish Hamilton, 1983.
Gardam, Jane. The People on Privilege Hill. Chatto and Windus, 2007.
Gardam, Jane. The People on Privilege Hill. Europa Editions, 2008.
Gardam, Jane. The Pineapple Bay Hotel. William Morrow, 1976.
Gardam, Jane. The Queen of the Tambourine. Sinclair-Stevenson, 1991.
Gardam, Jane. The Sidmouth Letters. Hamish Hamilton, 1980.