Margaret Legge

Standard Name: Legge, Margaret
Birth Name: Margaret Legge
ML , author of seven novels published between 1912 and 1929, used her fiction to discuss issues of marriage, women's suffrage, the difficulty of an older generation in adapting to modern life, and utopianism presented in the guise of fantasy. Her heroines tend to seek independence but choose to be protected; happy endings are often combined with deaths or changes of partner; the only consistent thread seems to be dissatisfaction with the status quo.


Connections Sort descending Author name Excerpt
Intertextuality and Influence Vera Brittain
By the mid 1920s, VB was an established journalist who published frequently in Time and Tide (she was their League of Nations correspondent) as well as in the Yorkshire Post, Manchester Guardian, Foreign...


No timeline events available.


Legge, Margaret. A Semi-Detached Marriage. Alston Rivers, 1912.
Legge, Margaret. A Tempestuous Daughter. Hodder and Stoughton, 1924.
Legge, Margaret. The Crystal Rabbit. Andrew Melrose, 1929.
Legge, Margaret. The Price of Stephen Bonyng. Alston Rivers, 1913.
Legge, Margaret. The Rebellion of Esther. Alston Rivers, 1914.
Legge, Margaret. The Spell of Atlantis. A. Melrose, 1927.
Legge, Margaret. The Wane of Uxenden. Edward Arnold, 1917.