Nan Shepherd

Standard Name: Shepherd, Nan
Birth Name: Anna Shepherd
NS , a Scotswoman, published between 1928 and 1934 three novels and a volume of poems. A volume of nature-writing or memoir about her relationship with the Cairngorm mountains proved unacceptable during the 1940s, and although it appeared as The Living Mountain in 1977, Shepherd never published another book, but confined herself to literary articles in the Aberdeen University Review. Her novels, which render everyday experience in remote, rural locations with modernist intensity and particularity of detail, received critical acclaim on first appearance but were then forgotten until the publishing house of Canongate initiated a revival in 1987.


No connections available.


No timeline events available.


Shepherd, Nan. A Pass in the Grampians. Constable, 1933.
Macfarlane, Robert, and Nan Shepherd. “Foreword”. In the Cairngorms, Galileo Books, 2014, p. xi - xvi.
Shepherd, Nan. In the Cairngorms. Moray Press, 1934.
Shepherd, Nan. In the Cairngorms. Galileo Books, 2014.
Shepherd, Nan. The Living Mountain. Aberdeen University Press, 1977.
Shepherd, Nan. The Living Mountain. Canongate, 2011.
Shepherd, Nan. The Quarry Wood. Constable, 1928.
Shepherd, Nan. The Quarry Wood. Canongate, 1987.
Shepherd, Nan. The Weatherhouse. Constable, 1930.
Shepherd, Nan. The Weatherhouse. Canongate, 1988.