Loading...
Sarah Trimmer entry: Overview screen.
Cite
Overview
Writing
Life
Writing and Life
Timeline
Excerpts
Works By
Sarah Trimmer's writing arose out of her work for two causes, religion and education, brought most closely together in her interest in Sunday schools. She edited magazines and was a pioneer both in animal stories for children and in the reviewing of children's books. Her pedagogical concerns place her in the tradition of Barbauld and Genlis, but her sense of religion is narrower, and her writing more pedestrian. She was a populariser and an activist for better training for the poor. From the opening of her publishing career in the 1780s, her output was phenomenally high; its continuance after her death suggests a kind of production line or at least a family business.
Milestones
6 January 1741 Sarah Kirby (later ST) was born in Ipswich, Suffolk, the elder of two children. Bibliographic Citation link.  scholarly note link.
1787 ST published, with her name, The Œconomy of Charity, a practical guide to setting up and running Sunday schools, specifically addressed to women. Bibliographic Citation link.
January 1788-June 1789 ST published The Family Magazine; or, A Repository of Religious Instruction, and Rational Amusement . . ., which was collected in three volumes during the same years. Bibliographic Citation link.
February 1789 ST's Family Magazine printed anecdotes of negroes. Bibliographic Citation link.
15 December 1810 ST died at Brentford near London. Bibliographic Citation link.
Back to Top