John Galsworthy entry: Overview screen.
Writing and Life
Works By
John Galsworthy was a novelist and dramatist who began publishing just before the end of the nineteenth century. The series of novels for which he is now best known, The Forsyte Saga, is historical, since its story begins forty years before the first in the series appeared. In 1921 John Galsworthy became first president of the PEN Club (later PEN International) founded by Catharine Amy Dawson Scott and Violet Hunt, and he won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1922.
14 August 1867 JG, novelist, dramatist, and poet, was born at Coombe in Surrey. Bibliographic Citation link.
Spring 1897 Under the pseudonym 'John Sinjohn', JG published his first collection of short stories, From the Four Winds, privately printed at his own expense. Bibliographic Citation link.
23 March 1906 JG published The Man of Property, the first novel in what became The Forsyte Saga, which charts the career of Soames Forsyte. It was written with substantial assistance from his wife, Ada Cooper Galsworthy. Bibliographic Citation link.
25 May 1922 JG's three Forsyte novels were published together as The Forsyte Saga, dedicated to his wife and unofficial collaborator, Ada Cooper Galsworthy. Bibliographic Citation link.
12 July 1928 JG published his last Forsyte novel, Swan Song. London newspapers made the death of his best-known character, Soames Forsyte, front-page news. Bibliographic Citation link.
31 January 1933 JG, prolific novelist and dramatist, died of a stroke at his home in Hampstead, London. Bibliographic Citation link.
Back to Top