Alethea Lewis entry: Overview screen.
Writing and Life
Works By
At first anonymously and then as 'Eugenia de Acton', Alethea Lewis published six books (five novels and one book of essays), which are linked by their title-pages regardless of the nom de plume. A separate series of five other titles, previously attributed to her, has been recently re-assigned to Frances Jacson (sometimes called Jackson). All Alethea Lewis's works share a tone of didacticism and Christian piety. Their plots are overcrowded and creaky, featuring sudden rises and falls in fortune; but with conventional plotting goes, often, a strain of creative unconventionality. Alethea Lewis favours ostentatious literary reference and self-conscious direct address to readers and reviewers.
19 December 1749 Alethea Brereton (later AL) was born at Acton, near Nantwich in Cheshire. Bibliographic Citation link.  scholarly note link.
By October 1810 AL published, as 'Eugenia de Acton' and with the Minerva Press, a four-volume novel entitled The Discarded Daughter. This was her last known work. Bibliographic Citation link.
Just before 12 November 1827 AL died at Penkridge in Staffordshire, after eight years of widowhood. Bibliographic Citation link.
Back to Top